Skip to content

Initial Review: DynaDuke Plates

January 22, 2010

So fairly soon after I broke my leg last February, I decided that I wanted to switch from telemark to alpine for at least a season or two. Several things led me to this conclusion:

1. I wanted a releasable binding.
2. I didn’t want to deal with fitting new boots a la NTN.
3. I’m a pretty decent tele skier if compared to half the flailers I see at various Tahoe-area resorts, but I still felt a bit held back by the equipment. If I wasn’t a weekend warrior, things might be different.
4. I wanted Dynafits, and I couldn’t afford to swing two pairs of boots.

I sold my leg-breaking equipment in the spring and purchased several new pieces of equipment. These included: Black Diamond Factors with both sets of soles, Movement Goliath Sluffs, and Marker Dukes.

The months slowly crawled by.

In the fall, jondrums on TGR opened up the list for his DynaDuke swap plates. I was first on the list for two pairs.

They were delivered in December. They are beautiful.

I purchased mounting supplies.

I ordered Dynafits. I got the white ones just for kicks because they were the same price and I had the option.

This is the result:

184 Goliath Sluffs with DynaDuke plates and Dynafit Vertical STs
Marker Duke on the plate but not screwed in
Duke next to plate
Dynafit on plate on Sluff
Stella the miniature schnauzer likes Dynafits on innovative plates
They even smell awesome!
Dynafits on Sluffs and Dukes on Praxis Protests
Close up of the toe plate with Dynafit
Here you can see how nicely the DUkes fit on the DynaDuke plates

Mounting the plates was super easy. These were my first mounts, other than an XC mount or two in high school, and they went very smoothly. The only issues I ran into were conflicts with previous mounts.

In advertising the plates, Jon mentioned that the wider mount pattern wouldn’t interfere with previous mounts… although I’m pretty sure he had only checked common alpine/AT bindings. However, my Sluffs were previously mounted for Look demos and there was a conflict. Unfortunately, I was in a hurry when I was initially drilling those so I didn’t notice the conflict until I’d already drilled a couple. I had to core out the problem holes and put inserts in. No big deal once I figured out what I wanted to do. On the Praxis, I previously had 22Designs Hammerheads (tele bindings) mounted at 101. I wanted to remount at 102, but there was a conflict, so I stayed at 101 to get the desired spacing. These were minor issues, but I wanted to note them.

All-in-all, I am super satisfied with these things. They made my switchover from tele much easier, and made me learn how to mount things myself, which will save me a bunch of cash in the long run. Mounting skis also provided some much-needed therapy when I still can’t ski in the midst of what is turning into an epic El Nino year in Tahoe.

Buy them here.

If you buy a set or two my advice would be to get a larger bottle of Loctite, and a nicer long-shafted hex tool.

This review will be followed-up with a short ski review (in April?) when I can actually get my left foot in a boot. I don’t anticipate having any problems though because it seems Jon has really done a bang-up job and I haven’t seen any complaints from the hardcore (at least on the internet :-)) skiers of TGR.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2010 9:59 PM

    Whoa, those plates look NICE! Holy balls, wish I had access to a CNC machine and some CAD/CAM skills.

    Nice schnauze, I need to get me my own dog.

  2. Tony permalink
    January 22, 2010 11:16 PM

    I was going to go to Mt. Shasta today but apparently they’re in a state of emergency because of all the snow they’ve gotten and because they’ve been without power since at least Tuesday morning. In Burney we got about a trace of snow, not even enough to coat the driveway and we’re pretty much the same elevation but I can’t complain. I look forward to heading out next week most likely.

    BTW, cool blog.

    • Colin permalink*
      January 22, 2010 11:18 PM

      Bummer about the Shasta City power issue.

      How’s the north side of Mount Burney looking?

  3. January 22, 2010 11:28 PM

    Nice work – look good. Welcome to the Dark Side of AT.

  4. Tony permalink
    January 22, 2010 11:29 PM

    6ft of snow and 6100 homes w/o power – I didn’t think it was that much! They’re only at 3500 feet and we’re at 3200.. I heard they’re brining in crews from all of Oregon to help (Pacific Corp not PG&E). As for the North side of Burney…. the sky is mostly clear but Mt. Burney has a cloud blanket currently on the top 80% of it. I see snow covered trees at the base so it’s looking promising. I’ll take my camera out and go for a short drive in a bit in the Metro. I’ll post my pix on FB later tonight

    http://www.redding.com/news/2010/jan/22/state-of-emergency-declared-in-siskiyou-county/

    • Colin permalink*
      January 22, 2010 11:57 PM

      ^^^That’s ridiculous. So Shasta gets its power from PacifiCorp, and you guys get your power from PG&E? Does the City of Burney get unofficial special power treatment because of PG&E’s facilities there? You got a generator yet?

      • Tony permalink
        January 23, 2010 2:48 AM

        View the map
        http://www.pge.com/myhome/customerservice/other/treetrimming/territory/index.shtml

        It goes east to Modoc, after that it’s part of the rural electrification project. North of us turns into pac corp (berkshire hathaway).

        I don’t think I’ll get a generator after all. We’re pretty sheltered from most weather and we have two transmission lines coming into town so if one fails they can switch us onto another one. Furthermore, since the population density is higher relative to surroundings, we become a priority. My nat gas fire place doesn’t need electricity to run and I bought 6 battery operated LED lights at the 99 cent store… guess for how much. If the power goes out and I need ice, I’ll just drive 5 miles to get some for the fridge :-)… or go across the street to safeway but that’s not as exciting.

  5. January 23, 2010 12:48 AM

    IMHO – You get rid of snapshots for the links. Kinda annoying.

    Things appear to be much more seamless over at sierratripreports.wordpress.com !!!!!

    • Colin permalink*
      January 23, 2010 12:49 AM

      Yeah, it is annoying. I think it was the default setting. I’ll fix it.

      And then I’ll bow down before your superior blog skills.

      • Colin permalink*
        January 23, 2010 12:51 AM

        Did it work?

    • Tony permalink
      January 23, 2010 2:50 AM

      Yeah, the snapshots over the links remind me of the Bing sponsored websites. I feel like I have to navigate the cursor over a mine field. I’m always setting off explosions of unwanted preview windows and when I try to close them it opens up the webpage. This isn’t nearly as bad though.

      This must be the most action your Blog has gotten.

  6. January 23, 2010 1:04 AM

    Nope. Still doing it for me.

    • Colin permalink*
      January 23, 2010 1:17 AM

      Ok, still working on it. You should be able to turn it off yourself, anyway. When the box pops up there’s an option to disable it.

  7. January 23, 2010 1:18 AM

    That worked – did my own disable.

  8. March 2, 2010 6:30 PM

    Just noticed the new STs have white toe pieces and white heal pieces. Clearly changed to match the Titans!

    • Colin permalink*
      March 2, 2010 7:27 PM

      They’re not the standard STs, they’re the ST Pros. Dunno if they’re generally available. They were the same price as the regular STs, so when I put my order in I just grabbed them to be different.

Leave a Reply

